Pay It Forward Friday – SMILE!

Smiling is infectious; you catch it like the flu.
When someone smiled at me today, I started smiling too.
I passed around a corner and someone saw my grin.
When he smiled, I realized I had passed it on to him.
I thought about that smile and then I realized its worth.
A single smile, just like mine, could travel around the earth.
So if you feel a smile begin, don’t leave it undetected.
Let’s start an epidemic quick and get the world infected.
Author Unknown

I recently read a blog written by Lori Deschene where she is discussing the idea of smiling.  She states that “some days, it’s easy to smile. You wake up to the sounds of birds chirping, with the warm glow of the morning sun cradling your face. You take several deep, cleansing breaths standing beneath a perfectly cascading shower, just before drawing a smiley face on the steamed-up glass with your index finger.

Your roommate or significant other makes your coffee, just the way you like it. You hit every traffic light. You sing to your favorite tunes. And you arrive at work refreshed, excited, and anxious to create and collaborate.”

But not every day starts this way. Sometimes you wake up to chaos, in your head or in the world around you. You hit snags, and bumps, and roadblocks at every turn. You try too hard, or don’t try enough, and things fall apart, or things fall short.  You struggle, you fight yourself and other people, and you find yourself wishing you could stop the world so you could get off for a while.

So this got me thinking.  I know how I feel when someone smiles at me when I am feeling down and out.  It is usually unexpected and catches me by surprise.  My mood changes almost instantly and the best part about it was that someone took the time to try to make a small difference in my life.  Sometimes the smile comes from someone I know and sometimes it is from a total stranger.  Smiling is free and it truly can warm the heart.  A smile can make someones day so much better than it ever could have been. And if you think about it, a smile can also very quickly lead to a laugh or a giggle.  Not only is smiling infectious but if you can make that smile turn into a laugh everyone feels better.

Regardless of if you are in need of a smile or are willing to give a few away, we wish you all a wonderful Pay It Forward Friday with smiles galore.

If you need a little inspiration to get you going this Friday morning, please enjoy this favourite video that is sure to bring a huge smile to your face.

Chase Made A Difference . . . What Will You Do Today?

One thought on “Pay It Forward Friday – SMILE!

  1. I have been in retail for so many years that it has become a part of me to “make eye contact” “SMILE” and say hello as this is part of my job! 10′ 10sec rule. No matter how Im personally feeling.
    I find myself, no matter where I am or what I am doing, I automatically do it with out thought!
    It is amazing how many times MY day has been brightened by the surprised recipient of my smile!

Leave a Reply

