A Tim Horton’s Pay It Forward Chain of Kindness

Have you ever had someone unexpectedly pay for something for you, for no other reason than . . . just because?  Well if this has happened to you in a Tim Horton’s drive through … then this lady may have been in the car in front of you.  Today’s story comes to us from another contributor who wishes to remain anonymous and after reading the following email you will understand why.  Happy Friday everyone!

tim-hortons-takeout-cupI routinely treat myself to a Tim Horton’s French Vanilla cappuccino every Friday morning.  It is my way of relaxing and taking a few extra minutes for myself at the end of a busy week filled with work, errands, and running the kids to a million school and extra curricular activities.

Three months ago after finding out about Chase’s Pay It Forward campaign, the AVIVA competition, and this blog … I decided that these Friday treats would become not only a treat for myself but that I would surprise the car behind me by paying for their entire order.  The orders varied from a single coffee, a coffee/muffin combo, a Take-10 coffee pack, and in one case a family breakfast which included coffee’s, hot chocolates, and breakfast sandwiches.  As I paid for these orders every Friday I would leave, with the drive through window Tim Horton’s employee, one of Chase’s Pay It Forward Cards asking them to kindly give it to the car behind me when they tell them that their order had been paid for by the car ahead of them.

I have often wondered what the reaction was for those in the vehicle behind me.  I have often wondered what act of kindness they may have chosen to pay forward for someone else.  I have been hoping that my surprise would have spurred a call to action for someone else in memory of this wonderful little boy.

tim-hortons[1]This past Friday, I drove up to my local Tim’s and placed my order.  My plan was to once again pay for the car behind me and leave a Pay It Forward card for them.  This act had become one that I so looked forward to and gave me such satisfaction in knowing that it made someone else morning just a bit better.  When I drove up to the window and handed my money and Pay It Forward card to the Tim’s employee, she smiled at me and quickly turned around and said to someone behind her, “It’s her!  She’s here again today.”  Another woman came to the window (I am assuming that it was the store manager or supervisor) and said to me, “Good Morning, Ma’am!  This morning your coffee is on us.”

I looked at her in shock, started to protest and wanted to ask “Why?” as she continued,  “Do you know what these cards have done the past few Fridays?”

I shook my head as I said, “No”.

She proceeded to tell me New Pay-it-Forward Cardthat on a number of my Friday morning visits, Chase’s Pay It Forward cards created a chain reaction and were passed back from car to car with each vehicle paying for the car behind it.  She said the longest chain that they counted was 9 cars.   I was in shock to think that that many people would have continued thinking about doing something for someone else so quickly on the spur of the moment.  I was, on the other hand, also very happy to hear that there were many kind individuals out there who were willing to make a difference for a complete stranger expecting nothing in return …  and to think that I had started the chain of kindness.  WOW!  🙂  That was unexpected!

I thanked the lady, not only for the cappuccino but also for the opportunity to be on the receiving end of a Pay It Forward act.  I handed her a few extra Pay It Forward cards, smiled and said that I would pay for the order of the car behind me.  It was, after all, my way of making sure that the Tim Horton’s chain of Pay It Forward kindness, stared that morning by this certain employee, would continue with me today as a part of the chain.

Thanks for all you have done in helping to raise awareness of the Pay It Forward concept.  I, for one, have felt the benefits of it in my heart as I have anonymously found a way to make a small difference for someone else in memory of Chase.  It feels really good knowing that something so small could snowball into something quite big.

I wish you much success in the AVIVA competition.  Please know that I have voted for your project every day.

God Bless!

Chase Made A Difference . . . Will You?

2 thoughts on “A Tim Horton’s Pay It Forward Chain of Kindness

  1. Shawna,
    My dear friends lost their oldest son about eight years ago. As a way to keep finding meaning in life they have looked for many ways in which to “pay it forward” in their lives over the last eight years. Although they didn’t call it “pay it forward” this is exactly what they did. They have sponsored families at Christmas, worked for the Humane Society and lately have been doing exactly what this person above did. My friend has been routinely paying for the car behind her at Tim’s for the last year. She says it makes her day if she gets to see the looks on their faces!

    • Hi Bonnie,
      It sounds like this is happening more and more often. I can only imagine that this does produce a great feeling of giving for the paying car and an unexpected sense of gratitude for the receiving car. It is nice knowing that there are so many thoughtful people out there. Thanks for sharing your friends story Bonnie. She sounds like a wonderfully strong woman who has looked for ways to make a difference that are meaningful and with purpose as a part of her healing journey. I would also like to think that your friend has been the start of many Tim’s drive through chains of kindness herself. Kindness has a way of producing more kindness … whether we know it or not.

Leave a Reply

